Knowledge Base

Scheduling Updates to Published Extracts 5.x

Product(s): Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server
Version(s): 5.1, 5.0
Last Modified Date: 27 Nov 2013
This article address scheduling updates for 5.x.

When you publish extracts of data to Tableau Server, you can schedule them to update automatically. With automatic updates, you do not have to republish the workbook every time the underlying data is updated, and you can still get the performance of a data extract. One example is a published workbook that connects to a large data warehouse that is updated weekly. Instead of requiring the workbook to query the live data, you can create a data extract that includes just the data necessary. This method improves performance and limits queries to the live database. Then you can add the published workbook to an update schedule so that the extract is refreshed each week with updated data from the data warehouse.

Before you begin, you must enable scheduling in Tableau Server. After you enable scheduling, you can add workbooks to update schedules, create and edit the update schedules, manage scheduled update tasks, and change schedule settings to allow publishers to assign workbooks to update schedules.

Enable scheduling

You need to configure Tableau Server with an extract storage engine before you can begin scheduling. When you publish a workbook that uses a data extract, the workbook and the extract file are stored on the server. When an extract storage engine is configured, the data from the extract is also stored in a shared database, which improves overall performance and allows you to refresh the data. You can use the built-in database or direct the extracts to an external database of your choice.

To configure Tableau Server to use extract storage:

Step 1

On the primary computer, select Start > Tableau Server > Configure Tableau Server.

Step 2

In the Tableau Server Configuration dialog box, select the Storage tab.

Step 3

On the Storage tab, in the Storage type list, select a storage type.
If you select one of the non built-in options, you also need to specify server, database, port, and authentication
information.

Refer to the Tableau Server Administrator Guide to learn more about configuring extract storage on the server.

Step 4

When finished, click OK.

Note: If you published workbooks that use extracts before configuring an extract storage engine, you need to republish these workbooks before they can be added to an update schedule.

Activate embedded credentials and scheduling

You need to perform these actions only once. After that, you can go straight to scheduling and other activities.

Step 1

Under Administration, click Maintenance.

UpdateExtracts17.png

Step 2

On the Maintenance page, under Settings, select Embedded Credentials and Scheduling.

Settings section; Embedded Credentials and Scheduling

Add a workbook to a data update schedule

After you enable scheduling, you can add workbooks to schedules from the Workbooks list. By default, Tableau Server has four built-in data update schedules. Refer to Manage schedules to learn how to create your own schedules.

To add a workbook to a data update schedule:

Step 1

In Tableau Server, on the Workbooks page, click the Actions expansion arrow to show the toolbar.

Step 2

Select the workbooks you want to schedule for refresh.

Step 3

In the toolbar, click Schedule Refresh.

Step 4

Select a schedule from the list.

Note: The Schedule Refresh option is available only if all the selected workbooks connect to an extract data source and were published after the server was configured with an extract storage engine.

Manage schedules

Tableau Server comes with three schedules already set up. You can create your own schedules or modify the default schedules. The Schedules page shows a list of schedules that include name, type, number of tasks, and when the refresh is next scheduled to run.

To open the Schedules page:

Step 1

Under Administration, click Maintenance.

Step 2

On the Maintenance page, click Schedules.

Create a new schedule.

Step 1

Click Create New Schedule at the bottom of the Schedules list.

Step 2

On the Create New Schedule page, under Schedule Properties, in the Schedule name text box, type a descriptive name for the schedule (such as Every Saturday Morning, Last Day of the Month, etc.).

Step 3

(Optional) In the Default priority text box, type a number from 0 to 100. This is the priority assigned to the task. If two tasks are pending in the queue, the one with the higher priority runs first. Refer to Manage Tasks to learn more about modifying a task's priority.

Step 4

Under Schedule Definition, apply settings to define the schedule.

Step 5

When finished, click Create Schedule.

Modify a schedule

Step 1

On the Schedules page, select the schedule you want to modify. You can modify only one schedule at a time.

Step 2

In the toolbar, click Modify.

Step 3

On the Edit Schedule page, change the schedule as needed.

Step 4

When finished, click Save Schedule.

You can also enable, disable, delete, or run schedules by selecting one or more schedules in the list and selecting an option on the toolbar.

Manage tasks

You can see a list of all scheduled tasks on the Tasks page. There you can change a task's priority, move it to a different schedule, or run it.

To open the Tasks page:

Step 1

Under Administration, click Maintenance.

Step 2

On the Maintenance page under Schedules, click Tasks

or

On the Maintenance page under Analysis, click Task History.

Change a task's priority

To change a task's priority:

Step 1

On the Tasks page, select the check box for one or more tasks you want to modify.

Step 2

On the toolbar, click Change Priority.

Step 3

In the dialog box, in the Priority text box, type a new priority from 0 to 100, and then click Modify.

The new priority number shows up for this workbook on the Tasks page.

Move a task to a different schedule

Step 1

On the Tasks page, select one or more tasks to modify.

Step 2

On the toolbar, click Change Schedule.

Step 3

Select a new schedule from the list of schedules.

After you select a different schedule, the new schedule appears in the Schedule column, and the Tasks page states that two tasks have moved.

You can also delete and run tasks by selecting one or more tasks in the list and selecting an option on the toolbar.

Did this article resolve the issue?

Attachments

Search Knowledge Base